Municipal Authority Board

The authority is a special kind of local unit. They are not general government entities as are cities, boroughs and townships. They are set up to borrow money and perform a special service. An authority is a body corporate and politic authorized to acquire, construct, improve, maintain and operate projects, and to borrow money and issue bonds to finance them. Projects include public facilities such as water facilities, water lines, other waterworks, sewage treatment plants, sewer lines, pumping stations, etc.

The original reason for establishing authorities was the restriction on incurring municipal debt imposed by the Commonwealth prior to the 1968 constitutional amendments, but they have proven useful mechanisms, particularly for joint municipal projects. As of January 2003, there were 2,105 authorities in Pennsylvania. They have grown at a substantial rate from the 1962 figure of 1,398.

Sandy Township's Municipal Authority Board is comprised of 5 people who are elected at large by the township population and each serve for a term of 6 years. (The municipal board doubles as the township's board of directors.)

The current board members are:
  • Jim Jeffers, Chairman
  • Dave Sylvis, Vice Chairman
  • Mark Sullivan
  • Andy Shenkle
  • Kevin A Salandra
Meetings are open to the public, the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month. Located within Sandy Township Municipal building's meeting room at 1094 Chestnut Ave, DuBois PA 15801

share, print, or email this page